Home >> Ekiti News >> Ekiti Election: APC Inaugurates Screening, Appeal Committees

Ekiti Election: APC Inaugurates Screening, Appeal Committees

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has inaugurated its screening and appeal committees for the upcoming Ekiti governorship election.

Former Bayelsa State governor, Timipre Silva, is the chairman of the screening committee, while the appeal committee is chaired by Abuzarri Ribadu.
The National Organising Secretary of the party, Ositta Izunaso, on behalf of National Chairman John Odigie-Oyegun, inaugurated the two committees on Wednesday, urging the members to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

The Ekiti state governorship election is scheduled by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to hold July 14.
Towards the election, APC had released a timetable showing its scheduled activities starting with the sale of forms from April 9 to 17, after which the aspirants will be screened from April 23 to April 25.

Not less than 29 aspirants have either written or visited the secretariat of the party to indicate their interest to contest although some are yet to publicly declare.

Some of the aspirants include former governors Kayode Fayemi and Segun Oni; Special Adviser to the President on Political Matters, Babafemi Ojudu; former senator Gbenga Aluko; former State House of Assembly speaker, Olufemi Bamisile; former Labour Party candidate, Opeyemi Bamidele; and former chairman of the Ekiti State Hospitals Management Board, Bamidele Faparusi.

The APC is seeking to oust the Peoples Democratic party (PDP), whose candidate in 2014, Ayo Fayose, defeated the sitting APC governor, Mr Fayemi.
The APC screening committee has been mandated to access all aspirants and documents presented by the aspirants for the election to enable the party come up with a suitable candidate while the appeal committee will address whatever issues arise afterwards.

Mr Isunazo stressed that the screening is mandatory for all aspirants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.